Home Sweet Home 5k

I am back in Florida and I am on plan in my training. I have not allowed rain, travel, a busy schedule or oppressive heat to deter me from my planned runs. I wrote out my training schedule on monthly calendars from the date that I registered until the date of the race. So far, I have been able to hold myself accountable. Tuesday morning called for 3 more miles to get logged. The road that circles our subdivision, if circumnavigated twice, makes for a nice route of almost exactly 3.1 miles, or 5 kilometers, also known as the 5k.

The weight is not falling off as fast as I might like. Isn’t that the way it always goes? I do, however, notice changes in my body composition. I have not tracked my fat percentage or measured like I should, but I am confident that I am moving in the right direction. I have shared my story often this week. Most people can’t believe that I was ever on the wrong side of 300 pounds. I am amazed at the changes in clothes sizes and comfort during physical activities that being 50 pounds lighter affords.

I am considering adding on some shorter races in preparation for the half marathon to get more participation from family and friends in the training process. I am looking at races like the “UCF 5-miler” and the “Turkey Trot” if anyone has any interest or input.

43:54.05
3.11 mi
14′ 06″ / mi

Categories: Sports | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

