In which, I run in the rain but it’s not too hot…

Full disclosure: I failed to do any cross training on Monday as planned. I was going to ride bike in the evening, but the Florida evening rain had other ideas. I know that I could have done something else, but I wimped out.

As I headed out Tuesday evening to get the planned run done, the weather was gloomy and threatening. I had no sooner started tracking my run with the house extremely close, and dry, when big fat rain drops began pounding the pavement.

I should also point out something that I forgot to mention in the last post about what is slightly different with this training plan. I am running without headphones or music. I have always tried to distract myself from the discomfort of running with motivating music. At the very least, I could interval run/walk with every other song. I have now taken to praying in the beginning of my run, counting out strides and trying to correlate count with pace in the middle, and thinking of all that I need to do toward the end.

The rain stayed consistent but never came down so hard that I was uncomfortable. If given the choice between blazing heat and pouring rain, I’ll take the rain.

I tried to pickup the pace and run longer without stopping. When I eventually stopped to walk, I began run/walk intervals at every streetlight with the run being at a much faster pace than I was maintaining earlier. It was hard but I felt great.

Have you signed up for the OUC Half Marathon yet? Do you have a race or challenge in mind? What are you waiting for? Comment below and we can help each other.

42:04.98
3.15 mi
13’24″/mi

Next run is scheduled for Thursday. It will be tough as I am traveling to Texas and have an evening event. Stay tuned.

Categories: Sports | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

