In which, I sign up and begin training…

So, last Thursday was the last day to register and save $10 for this December’s OUC Half Marathon.

I am nearing the end of another 24 Day Challenge and having lost another 15 pounds so far and dropping another couple inches in my waist has me motivated. Buying shorts in a store yesterday with my kids on this tax-free weekend that doesn’t sell my previous size was motivating. Not being completely disappointed when passing a mirror is motivating.

I had been challenged a few weeks back by Jeff Boddiford, who will either be credited or blamed throughout this process, to run the OUC Half Marathon.

I have two problems with a half marathon. First, it needs its own name. I don’t want to brag about doing half of something. Let’s come up with a name for the distance. Second is the distance. I have no memory of ever running more than a mile and a half at a time. I played soccer and football growing up and regularly ran more than that in a game, but never without any stops to walk or rest.

I am registered, so I need a plan. I did some research and have a plan to get to 13.1 miles by December. Now it’s about execution. I want to know that I can do it. I want to be comfortable and have a pace that I own.

Today, I ran/walked a little more than three miles. The longest sustained run within was a little more than a mile and a half at about a 12 minute pace. I really look forward to seeing how this progresses and how I will feel throughout. I was in Clermont for the kids’ swimming and found myself running hills of all things.

43:51.05
3.13 mi
14’01″/mi

Tomorrow may include some biking if I can get Mickey out or some other form of cross training before running again on Tuesday.

What are you doing? I need some teammates. Get off your ass and make it happen. Hit me up on the social media of your choosing and let’s help each other achieve our goals.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

